Something about Ritornell

English / Deutsch

Full Press Info ZIP-File

Acoustic and electronic sounds merge on »Aquarium Eyes«. Paying great attention to detail, Ritornell recorded at various locations (the studio of Patrick Pulsinger being one of them). The results are gently woven into their very own world of sound. Defamiliarized by subtle electronic manipulation, instruments such as piano, double bass, vibraphone, kalimba, and accordion develop a surprising life of their own, only to be consequently swallowed up by the hissing and buzzing of electronic devices. Gleaming multi-layered electro-acoustic drones, isolated organic sounds, and sophisticated textures complete the intricate arrangements.

On »Aquarium Eyes«, Ritornell tackle the art of songwriting for the first time: Vienna based vocalist Mimu sings, whispers, and sighs golden threads through some of the fragile sound structures that Gerold and Eigner assembled with intuition. The duo also collaborated with vocal artist Didi Bruckmayer on the track »Tremble«. »Music Box« is a conceptual piece: Under the direction of Richard Eigner, 20 people simultaneously turn the levers of their music boxes: Melodies of musical history blend into a sparkling confusion of sound. With their interpretation of »In Every Dream Home A Heartache«, Ritornell finally present their very own version of a Roxy Music song, albeit with a twist: the guitars from the original have been replaced by a string trio.

Richard Eigner, born in Linz in 1983, works mainly as a composer and sound-artist, but he has also contributed as a drummer to various productions, such as Patrick Wolf's album »Magic Position«. In 2005 he won the Elektronikland award for experimental electronic music. Besides quite a few other musical projects he is managing his own label, Wald Entertainment.
Roman Gerold, an awardee himself and born the same year as Eigner, has been working as a pianist for various jazz bands in Austria between 1996 and 2003. In 2002 he began studying multimedia-art in Salzburg and changed to German philology in 2006. He's composing his music freelance for theatre and film.

Live Eigner & Gerold showcase their material as a electro-acoustic quartet together with Mimu Merz and Gerhard Daurer. They focus on improvisation with a very reduced instrumental set up.
While Gerhard Daurer maxes out the possibilities of his specially devised gamepad-granular-synthesizer, Roman Gerold is adding subtle melodies and vivid drones as well as processing the live-inputs of the acoustic instruments.
Richard Eigner again provides the electronic improvisations with fine acoustic rhythms and textures, playing his ride-cymbal with the use of diverse utensils such as bass bows, sizzle-chains or a toilet brush.

 

Quotes

Cristian Vogel (Novamute/Tresor): „The material I heard just touched me very deeply. Interludium, Nina, Disappearing City - superb pieces of music.“

Gilles Peterson (Brownsood/BBC): „Really great Vinyls!“

Peter Kruder (G-Stone): „Cool stuff. I particulary like Disappearing City and Emere.“

August Engkilde (Scape~): „A very good balance of honesty and humor without loosing seriousness and musicality. I am impressed!“

Wolfgang Dorninger (Wipeout): „Congratulations, a true masterpiece. Very dense and still so airy.“

 

Contact

For booking, remixes, scoring and other wishes please use following adresses: contact [at] ritornell.at / info [at] karaokekalk.de

Something about Ritornell

English / Deutsch

Full Press Info ZIP-File

Akustische und elektronische Klänge verschmelzen auf »Aquarium Eyes«, dem zweiten Album des österreichischen Duos Ritornell. Aufnahmen, die mit viel Liebe zum Detail (unter anderem im Studio von Patrick Pulsinger) entstanden sind, werden behutsam in den Klangkosmos von Richard Eigner und Roman Gerold eingewoben. Durch subtile elektronische Verfremdungen entwickeln Instrumente wie Klavier, Kontrabass, Vibrafon, Kalimba und Akkordeon ein überraschendes Eigenleben, um sich Momente später im Zischen und Fauchen elektronischer Gerätschaften aufzulösen. Unterdessen werden sie umspielt vom Funkeln mehrschichtiger elektro-akustischer Drones. Einzelne organische Geräusche und sublime Texturen komplettieren die detaillierten Arrangements.

Für »Aquarium Eyes« hat Ritornell erstmals Songs geschrieben: Die Wiener Künstlerin Mimu singt, flüstert und haucht rote Fäden durch manche der fragilen Klangkonstrukte, die Gerold und Eigner mit Fingerspitzengefühl zusammengesetzt haben. Für das Stück »Tremble« hat sich das Duo mit dem Vokal-Künstler Didi Bruckmayr zusammengetan. Der Track »Music Boxlaquo; ist ein Konzeptstück: Dirigiert von Richard Eigner drehen 20 Personen gleichzeitig an ihren Spieluhren. Aus den Melodien der Musikgeschichte wird dabei ein funkelndes Gewirr. Mit »In Every Dream Home A Heartachelaquo; hat sich Ritornell schließlich auch an eine Roxy Music Coverversion gewagt, wobei an die Stelle der Gitarren ein Streichertrio getreten ist.

Richard Eigner, geboren 1983 in Linz, ist vorwiegend als Komponist und Sound-Artist tätig und wirkt bei vielen Produktionen als Schlagzeuger mit (u.a. für das Album »Magic Position« von Patrick Wolf). 2005 gewann er den Elektronikland-Award für experimentelle elektronische Musik. Neben einigen weiteren musikalischen Projekten führt er sein eigenes Label, Wald Entertainment.

Roman Gerold, ebenfalls Preisträger und im selben Jahrgang geboren, war zwischen 1996 und 2003 als Pianist in verschiedenen Jazz-Formationen in österreich tätig. 2002 studierte er Multimedia-Art in Salzburg und wechselte 2006 zur Germanistik. Seine Musik komponiert er freiberuflich für Theater und Film. Gerold ist außerdem freier Journalist.

Live präsentieren Eigner & Gerold ihr Material als elektro-akustisches Quartett im Verbund mit Mimu Merz und Gerhard Daurer. Das Hauptaugenmerk liegt dabei in der Improvisation mit einem äußerst reduzierten Setup an Instrumenten.
Während Gerhard Daurer die Möglichkeiten seines eigens entwickelten Gamepad-Granular-Synthesizers ausschöpft, addiert Roman Gerold subtile Melodien und lebhafte Drones und prozessiert die Live-Inputs der akustischen Instrumente. Richard Eigner verleiht mit seinem Ride-Becken, das er mit verschiedenen Utensilien (Bassbogen, Sizzle-Chains, Klobürste) spielt, den elektronischen Improvisationen feine akustische Rhythmen und Texturen.

 

Quotes

Cristian Vogel (Novamute/Tresor): „The material I heard just touched me very deeply. Interludium, Nina, Disappearing City - superb pieces of music.“

Gilles Peterson (Brownsood/BBC): „Really great Vinyls!“

Peter Kruder (G-Stone): „Cool stuff. I particulary like Disappearing City and Emere.“

August Engkilde (Scape~): „A very good balance of honesty and humor without loosing seriousness and musicality. I am impressed!“

Wolfgang Dorninger (Wipeout): „Congratulations, a true masterpiece. Very dense and still so airy.“

 

Contact

For booking, remixes, scoring and other wishes please use following adresses: contact [at] ritornell.at / info [at] karaokekalk.de